IN THE CELLAR

VINIFICATION

receptionThe grapes arrive at the cellar

As soon as the grapes arrive, in small hoppers, it’s the law of gravity which governs the principal steps of the vinification process. At this stage, it enables the clusters of grapes to be kept whole until they’ve been crushed and/or destemmed, thus avoiding any risk of oxidation.

 

aerationPumping-over and breaking up the cap

These are the two main operations carried out during the vinification of our wines. Their frequency will vary according to the appellation. They will be repeated several times a day for our Châteauneuf du Pape wines in order to obtain maximum extraction of the pigments and tannins; for our Côtes du Rhônes, which we want above all to be fruity and light, these operations will not be done so frequently.

remontageAiring and temperature control

In order to guarantee that the fermentation takes place satisfactorily, we carry out one aeration of our wines per day during the first week of vatting. The temperature of each of the vats is regulated in order to prevent any overheating during the fermentation.

 

Devatting

When the alcoholic fermentation is finished, we leave the juice and the solid matter decuvage(skins, pips or stalks, in some cases) to macerate together for several days. We run off the juice from the vat earlier or later, depending on the appellation: earlier (after about a fortnight) for the Côte du Rhône wines, in which we’re looking for freshness; later (after 21 to 30 days) for the Châteauneuf du Papes. Then it’s time to empty the vats, which means removing the solid matter remaining after the free-run wine has been drawn off. This solid matter will be pressed in order to obtain the juice which it still contains.

MATURATION

Filling the barrels and tanks

entonnageThe grape juice has now become wine and is transferred into barrels or vats. For some of our wines, like our white Jas de Bressy in particular, we carry out this operation before the fermentation, as soon as the grapes have been pressed on arrival at the cellar. The Côtes du Rhônes are matured in concrete tanks. Our traditional Châteauneuf du Pape wines are matured for 12 months in wooden vats. The Cuvée Fines Roches and red Jas de Bressy are matured in wooden vats and 12 to 18-month casks.

 

Topping-up

ouillageThroughout the period of maturation, the wood in which we have placed our wines will “consume” a small part of their volume, known as the “angels’ share”.
This means that any vessel used to contain wine must be kept completely full in order to protect the wine against oxidation. In this way, no pocket of air will be allowed to form. To do this, we must regularly top up the level with the same wine as the cask or the vat contains.

BOTTLING

After so many months of passion and patience, our wines are at last ready to be bottled. This final operation, carried out at the estate, enables us to control all the stages and take no chances in order to bring you the wine of our passion. The red and rosé Côtes du Rhônes and the white Châteauneuf du Papes are ready to drink as soon as they have been bottled. For the red Châteauneuf du Papes, and particularly the Cuvée Fines Roches and the red Jas de Bressy, we use bottle maturing for at least one year and maybe even as much as 3 to 4 years. This bottle maturing enables the wine to assimilate better its maturation in casks and to reveal fully the terroir of Châteauneuf du Pape.

 

gamme-vmb

A la cave

LA VIGNIFICATION

receptionLa réception des raisins à la cave

Principe de gravité aux principales étapes de la vinification, dès la réception des raisins, arrivés dans de petites bennes. A cette étape, notamment, cela permet d’assurer l’intégrité des raisins jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient foulés et/ou égrappés et donc préserver de tout risque d’oxydation.

 

aerationLe remontage et le pigeage

Telles sont les deux principales actions menées pendant la vinification de nos vins. La fréquence varie en fonction de l’appellation : Elles seront répétées à plusieurs reprises dans la journée pour les Châteauneuf du Pape, pour assurer une extraction optimale de la matière colorante et tannique ; Elles seront moins nombreuses pour les Côtes du Rhône pour lesquels nous privilégions avant tout le fruité et la légèreté.

remontageAération et maîtrise de température

Afin de garantir la bonne marche de la fermentation, nous pratiquons une aération par jour la première semaine de cuvaison. La température de chacune des cuves est régulée afin de ne pas avoir un échauffement trop important de la cuve pendant la fermentation.

 

Le décuvage

decuvageLa fermentation alcoolique terminée, nous laissons le jus et les matières solides (péllicules, pépins, rafles pour certains…) macérer ensemble plusieurs jours. En fonction de l’appellation, on écoule les cuves plus ou mois tôt : rapidement (après 15 jours environ) pour les Côtes du Rhône que  l’on veut sur la fraicheur, ; plus longtemps (21 à 30 jours environ) pour les Châteauneuf du Pape. Ensuite, il est temps de décuver la cuve, c’est-à-dire de sortir les parties solides restant après écoulage du jus de goutte de la cuve. Ces parties solides seront pressées pour obtenir le jus qu’elles contiennent encore.

L’ELEVAGE
L’entonnage

entonnageC’est la mise en fût ou en foudre du jus de raisin devenu vin. Pour certains de nos vins, notamment le Jas de Bressy blanc, nous effectuons cette opération avant la fermentation, dès la pressée des raisins à leur arrivée en cave. Pour les Côtes du Rhône, les vins sont élevés en cuve béton. Nos Châteauneuf du Pape traditionnels sont élevés 12 mois en foudre. La cuvée Fines Roches et Jas de Bressy sont élevés en foudre et fût de 12 à 18 mois.

 

L’ouillage

ouillageTout au long de leur élevage, le bois dans lequel nous avons placé nos vins va « consommer » une petite part du volume, appelée la « part des anges ». Or un contenant vinique doit, pour prémunir le vin de toute oxydation, être maintenu complètement plein. Ainsi, aucune poche d’air ne se formera. Pour ce faire, nous devons régulièrement compléter le niveau du fût ou du foudre avec le même vin que nous avons mis à l’intérieur.

L’EMBOUTEILLAGE

Après des mois de passion et de patience, voilà nos vins enfin prêts à être embouteillés. Cette dernière opération effectuée au domaine, nous permet, en maîtrisant l’ensemble des étapes de mettre toutes les chances de notre côté pour vous servir le vin de la passion. Les Côtes du Rhône rouges et rosé et les Châteauneuf du Pape blancs sont « prêts à boire » dès la mise en bouteille. Pour les Châteauneuf du Pape rouges et particulièrement la cuvée Fines Roches et Jas de Bressy, nous pratiquons un élevage en bouteille d’au minimum 1 an qui peut aller jusqu’à 3/4 ans. Cet élevage en bouteille permet au vin de mieux intégrer son élevage en fût et de révéler pleinement le terroir de Châteauneuf du Pape.

 

gamme-vmb