IN THE VINEYARD

If, according to Robert Barrot, “the essential work takes place in the vineyard”, what is done in the cellar plays an equally determining role. Because with the finest and healthiest of grapes, there’s no guarantee that you’ll obtain the finest of wines, unless everything has been done to maintain its quality.
Here are the main stages, first in the vineyard, then in the cellar, which we go through in order to be able to present to you the best of our terroir.

Pruning [from November to March]

tailleIf we are to believe the legend, it was Saint Martin’s ass, with its hungry jaws, tethered at the end of a row of vines at the Abbey of Marmoutier (near Tours), that invented pruning. At harvest time, the monks of the abbey noted the quantity and the quality of the grapes produced by the vines which had thus been nibbled, and decided to apply this practice to the entire vineyard. Today, all the vineyards with appellations are pruned and the benefits, in terms of quality, brought by this technique is a proven fact. Indeed, uncultivated, the vine is a creeper which grows generously, and only produces small bunches of not very sweet, rather acidic grapes. By controlling its wild growth, we can contain the plant’s vigour, concentrating it on what first and foremost interests us most, its grapes. On our estate, we favour short pruning. One of our main concerns is to take into account the vine’s growth in relation to the dominant wind, the Mistral.

Tying down the canes [March to April]

attachageWinter is coming to an end, the sap is beginning to rise, now is the time to tie down the canes left after the pruning to the supporting wire (the lowest wire of the trellising). This operation is not easy, because there’s a risk of breaking the cane, when bending it in order to place it along the wire. It’s a long operation, carried out entirely by hand. It’s important to make sure that it’s done before the buds grow so as to avoid breaking them off while tying the cane down to the wire. This operation makes it possible for all the buds to be pruned at the same height. The shoots which will bear the new crop will thus grow from the same level, making it easy to obtain improved maturity and better-balanced grapes in the healthiest possible state.

Replacement of vines [March to April]

complantationThe objective, here, is to maintain the vineyard with respect to the density required for the appellation and the average age of the vines. This operation is carried out by replacing the dead or less vigorous vines with new ones, without ripping out the entire plot. It’s a delicate intervention, because the already-established stocks enter into competition with the new ones. Immediate and subsequently renewed watering, is a crucial step if the new vines are to grow successfully. They need to be carefully looked after for more than three years before they bear their first grapes.

 

Debudding [From March to June]

When the pruning has been done and budburst has taken debourgeonplace, it’s time for us to debud. This operation cannot be carried out as long as the risk of frost remains. Indeed, coming after pruning, debudding is a sort of stocktaking of the buds that have been left and the unwanted shoots which might cause us to overrun the yields authorised by the regulations of the appellation. The goal is to eliminate all the shoots liable to grow, particularly at the centre of the stock, and prevent air from reaching the grapes, which would favour the development of diseases caused by condensation. Once again, it’s important to be vigilant during this operation as regards the dominant wind, so as not to endanger the fragile branches.

Working the soil [all year round]

wsolThe keystone to our work in the vineyard. It is carried out to limit the spread of weeds, to preserve the soil’s richness by reducing erosion, to contain the vine so that it can draw its resources more deeply and as an alternative to the use of certain pesticides. We pay very particular attention to the working of the soil, which means ploughing with the tractor at least once a month between February and the end of July. Ploughing well done is just as beneficial as watering.

 

Weeding [March] / Treatments [May-June-July]

traitementIn order that our vines may express the personality of their terroir, and out of concern for the conservation of our environment, the weeding and treatments we carry out comply with integrated viticultural methods. Each year, in accordance with our personal philosophy and according to the constraints imposed by the vintage, we keep them to a minimum. Since 2000, thanks to a biological practice known as mating disruption, we’ve no longer used insecticides on the estate.

 

“When the work in the vineyard has been done, we must remember that good-quality grapes, resulting from meticulous care, are certainly the most important of the conditions which are essential if we can hope to obtain a good wine, but there’s more to it than that! Indeed, if the same care is not taken when working in the cellar, if the chain of know-how in our trade is not respected, the judgement pronounced by the supreme court of our taste-buds is final!”

Next page

A la vigne

Si « l’essentiel se fait au vignoble », selon Robert Barrot, le travail en cave est également déterminent. Car avec le plus beau et le plus sain de tout les raisins, il n’est pas garanti d’obtenir le meilleur des vins si tout n’a pas été mis en œuvre pour en maintenir sa qualité.

Voici les principales étapes, à la vigne, d’abord, puis en cave, par lesquelles nous passons pour pouvoir vous présenter le meilleur de notre terroir.

La taille [de novembre à mars]

tailleSelon la légende, c’est l’âne de St Martin, qui, de sa mâchoire gourmande, inventa la taille, alors qu’il était attaché au bout d’un rang de vignes de l’Abbaye de Marmoutier (à côté de Tours). Lors des vendanges, les moines de l’abbaye constatant la quantité et la qualité des raisins portés par les vignes ainsi broutées, décidèrent de généraliser la pratique à tout le vignoble. Aujourd’hui, toutes les vignes d’appellation sont taillées et l’impact qualitatif de cette technique n’est plus à démontrer. En effet, la vigne à l’état sauvage est une liane qui s’étend considérablement et ne produit que de petites grappes peu sucrées et acides. En maîtrisant cette folle croissance, on canalise la vigueur de la plante, sur ce qui nous intéresse avant tout : ses raisins. Sur le domaine, nous privilégions les tailles courtes. Une des principales attentions est de tenir compte de la pousse de la vigne par rapport au vent dominant : le Mistral.

L’attachage des baguettes [mars-avril]

attachageL’hiver s’étire, la sève commence à monter, il est temps d’attacher les baguettes laissées à la taille au fil de fer porteur (le fil inférieur des palissages). L’opération est périlleuse car on risque de la casser en la courbant pour l’amener le long du fil de fer. C’est une opération longue car entièrement manuelle. Il faut veiller à l’effectuer avant que les bourgeons ne poussent pour éviter d’en casser en attachant la baguette au fil. Cette opération permet d’avoir les bourgeons taillés à la même hauteur. Les tiges qui donneront la nouvelle récolte partiront ainsi du même niveau facilitant une meilleure maturité, un meilleur équilibre des raisins et une qualité sanitaire optimale.

La complantation [mars-avril]

complantationL’objectif de la complantation est l’entretien du vignoble pour respecter la densité requise de l’appellation et garder un âge moyen élevé, garant de qualité. Elle s’obtient par le remplacement des pieds morts ou les moins vaillants par un nouveau plant sans arrachage total de la parcelle. C’est une intervention délicate car les pieds de vigne déjà en place entrent en concurrence avec le nouveau plant. L’arrosage immédiat, renouvelé par la suite est une étape indispensable pour la reprise de ce plant. Ce jeune plant nécessite un entretien soigné pendant plus de 3 ans avant de donner ses premières grappes.

Le débourgeonnage [de mars à juin]

debourgeonAprès la taille et le débourrement, nous voici au moment du débourgeonnage. Celui-ci ne peut être fait, que lorsque les risques de gel sont éliminés. Consécutif de la taille, le débourgeonnage est en effet, un petit inventaire des bourgeons laissés à la taille et des pousses intempestives qui nous feraient dépasser les rendements autorisés par nos décrets d’appellation. Le but est d’éliminer aussi toutes les sarments qui pourraient pousser notamment au centre de la souche limitant l’aération des raisins, ce qui pourrait être propice au développement de maladies dues à la condensation. Une nouvelle fois, lors de cette opération, il faut être attentif au vent dominant afin de ne pas trop fragiliser les rameaux.

Le travail du sol [toute l’année]

wsolClef de voute du travail de la vigne. Il est pratiqué pour limiter la prolifération des mauvaises herbes (les adventices), préserver la richesse du sol en limitant l’érosion, canaliser la vigne pour lui permettre de puiser ses ressources plus profondément et en alternative à l’usage de certains pesticides. Nous attachons une attention tout à fait particulière au travail du sol ce qui se traduit par au minimum un passage de tracteur par mois de février à fin juillet. Un bon labour vaut un arrosage.

 

Le désherbage [mars] / Le traitement [mai-juin-juillet]

traitementPour que nos vins expriment la personnalité de leur terroir et dans un souci de préservation de notre environnement, nous pratiquons des désherbages et des traitements raisonnés. Chaque année, nous les limitons par philosophie personnelle et en fonction des contraintes imposées par le millésime.
Depuis 2000, grâce à une pratique biologique appelée confusion, nous n’employons plus d’insecticide sur le domaine.

 

« Le travail de la vigne accompli, il faut se rappeler qu’un beau raisin, résultat d’un soin tout particulier est certes, la première des conditions incontournable pour espérer obtenir un bon vin, mais pas que ! En effet, si le même soin n’est pas apporté au travail en cave, si le savoir-faire dans la chaine du métier n’est pas respecté, le jugement de la cour suprême des papilles sera sans recours ! »

Page suivante