THE HARVEST

vendange_1Everything begins during the summer, when we choose the sixty grape-pickers necessary to bring in to the cellar the fruits of our work of the previous twelve months. This team of enthusiastic volunteers will come to support the cellar’s fifteen full-time employees and ourselves, for whom this final stage of the winegrowing process carries a highly symbolic significance. Indeed, it’s the transition between the cycle of the vine and that of wine.

The regulations of the Châteauneuf du Pape appellation’s decree stipulates that the harvest must be carried out by hand. For Côtes du Rhône, there’s nothing to stop you harvesting by machine. However, harvesting manually ensures that the clusters of grapes remain intact until their vatting, which is a further guarantee of quality. The vineyard of the Château du Bois de la Garde still being, for the most part, bush-trained, and therefore without trellising, we also undertake a large part of this harvest by hand.

Starting at the end of August, half of the team devotes itself to picking the first white varieties, the Grenaches and Roussannes of the Chateau Jas de Bressy, and then those of the Fines Roches. After that, it will continue in early September by harvesting Château du Bois de la Garde, starting with the first plots of red grape varieties which will be used to produce our Côtes du Rhône rosé. Then towards mid-September, according to the constraints of the weather, the second half of the team will start work: one half will concentrate on the Bois de la Garde and the other on the Fines Roches, finishing with the Jas de Bressy.

In both teams, the cutters and the carriers run the show. As the cutters fill their buckets, the carriers replace them with new, empty ones.

The first sorting is carried out by the pickers: before placing each bunch in the bucket, they make sure that the grapes are healthy. In the hopper, the grapes are then sorted a second time, by the sorter, when a carrier empties a bucket.

In most of the vineyard, the rows of vines are barely two yards apart, which means that it’s necessary, in order not to damage the stocks and the grapes, for the tractor to follow the pickers so that the branches sticking too far out into the row and which the tractor could tear away may be removed.

Then once the hopper is full, it’s off to the cellar to empty it.

Les Vendanges

vendange_1Tout commence dans le courant de l’été, par la sélection des soixante vendangeurs indispensables pour rentrer en cave le fruit du labeur des douze mois précédents.  Cette équipe volontaire et enthousiaste, viendra renforcer les quinze salariés permanents de la cave et nous mêmes, pour qui cette ultime étape de la vigne revêt une importance hautement symbolique. C’est en effet la transition entre le cycle de la vigne et celui du vin.

L’appellation Châteauneuf du Pape obéit à un décret qui précise que la vendange doit être manuelle. Pour les Côtes du Rhône, rien n’exclut la vendange mécanique. Cependant, une récolte manuelle garantit de préserver l’intégrité des raisins avant leur mise en cuve, gage complémentaire de qualité. Le vignoble du Château du Bois de la Garde étant encore majoritairement en gobelet, donc non palissé, nous effectuons également une grande partie de la récolte à la main.

Dès la fin du mois d’août, la moitié de l’effectif se consacre à la récolte des premiers cépages blancs, grenaches et roussannes du Château Jas de Bressy notamment, puis ensuite ceux des Fines Roches. Elle enchaînera ensuite, début septembre, sur celle du Château du Bois de la Garde en commençant par les premières parcelles en cépages rouges destinées à la production de nos Côtes du Rhône rosé. Puis, vers la mi-septembre, selon les contraintes de la météo, la seconde moitié de l’équipe entre en jeu se concentrant  pour l’une sur le Bois de la Garde et l’autre sur les Fines Roches pour terminer enfin par le Jas de Bressy.

Au sein des deux équipes, coupeurs et porteurs mènent la danse. Au fur et à mesure que les coupeurs remplissent leur seau, les porteurs les remplacent par un autre, vide.

Un premier tri est effectué par les vendangeurs : avant de déposer une grappe dans le seau, ils s’assurent de la qualité sanitaire de celle-ci. Un deuxième tri est effectué dans la benne par le « trieur », lorsque le porteur vide son seau.

Dans la majeure partie du vignoble, les rangées de vigne ne sont séparées que de deux petits mètres, ce qui nécessite, pour préserver les souches et les grappes, de précéder le tracteur dans le but de couper les sarments qui viennent trop au milieu du rang et que celui-ci pourrait arracher.

Ensuite, la benne remplie, c’est le voyage à la cave pour la vider.